County Continues to Distribute AED Machines to Districts

2019 AED machines

County Warden Robert Parker, left, and Deputy Warden Wayne Murray look over the recently purchased AED machines purchased by the Municipality of Pictou County for community halls in rural districts.

The Municipality of Pictou County has renewed its commitment to distributing life-saving devices to rural communities.

Council distributed eight automated external defibrillators in 2018-2019 fiscal year, and it was decided at that time an additional AED machines would be purchased this fiscal year to accommodate those districts who did not receive one in the previous year.  

The machines are portable devices that checks heart rhythm.  If needed, it can send an electric shock to the heart to restore a normal rhythm.  AEDs can be used to treat sudden cardiac arrest which is a condition when the heart suddenly stops beating.  A training video is provided with each machine for volunteers or staff to watch.  Each device will be mounted to a wall and the portable devices can be removed for use. 

The County purchased six units this fiscal year and three additional units were purchased by community groups with assistance from municipal service grants in District 7 and District 5.   Community groups who receive AED machines are encouraged to register them with the Emergency Health Services.  This can be done online at

Communities receiving AED Machines include:
District 9 – Linacy Fire Hall
District 12 – St. Columba United Church Hall
District 8 – Abercrombie Fire Hall
District 7 – Middle River Presbyterian Church
District 7- Millbrook Community Hall
District 7 – St. Luke’s United Church
District 5 – Scotsburn Bethel Church Hall
District 5 – Meadowville Poplar Hill Community Centre
District 3 – Caribou River Community Hall